One man’s humour is another man’s squirming discomfort

I know that Woody Allen has fallen from grace with the biggest thud, but I for one will always think of his films with great fondness and admiration. When I first saw ‘Sleeper’ I was about 13 years old and it was the funniest thing I had EVER seen. I know I am not alone in this, and so I have chosen the famous Mr Allen for the 3 quotes for today to balance the inspirational quotes of the last 2 days

Yes, I found them on internet sites

Yes, we have all heard them before

Yes, I think they are worth hearing again

“Money is better than poverty, if only for financial reasons”

“Life is full of misery, loneliness, and suffering – and it’s all over much too soon.”

“I don’t want to achieve immortality through my work. I want to achieve it through not dying.”

There are also many Woody Allen quotes which really are gems of wisdom, but I have made a conscious choice to opt for the silly ones. I hope you get a little giggle out of at least one of these. It’s such a specific style of humour and it immediately summons up his character’s facial expressions and gesticulations

When Charlotte was a baby we sat at a table next to Woody Allen outside a bar in downtown Miami. It was after all the squidgy stuff had hit the fan, but it was exciting, nonetheless. I was surprised at how skinny and worn he really looked, but he was probably closer than ever to becoming his on-screen character

Author: poshbirdy

Art deco/ art nouveau maniac enjoying a deep and meaningful relationship with alcohol

One thought on “One man’s humour is another man’s squirming discomfort”

Leave a comment

My Mazamet

Life at № 42 by E.M. Coutinho

A little something Elsie

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

BILL'S BLOG

my weekly diary for my friends

Chicken Brain

Fixing my wayward mind through the medium of chickens

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, photography and a creative life

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Thoughts that might just be useful in the future

A collection of thoughts to inspire others into thinking that little bit differently

Past<Rewind

A Mixed Assortment of Historical Delights

the paris apartment

hoping we know we're living the dream

punchthelime

musings from marseille

Pumpjack & Piddlewick

Fab Fun Findings from France

Abandoned Southeast

Preserving the Past | 200+ Abandoned, Historic, and Forgotten Places

CHEZ SHEA

THE HIGHS AND LOWS OF LIVING THE DREAM

spearfruit

....................................it's our life